Indoor Rowing Competition

Indoor Rowing Competition

On Tuesday 17th January, Carisbrooke College took part in the annual Indoor Rowing Competition at Sandown Bay Academy. Last year Carisbrooke won the competition for the first time in our history, and therefore, the team had a lot to live up to. However, before the team left they were hit hard with the news that a number of key individuals had not been able to attend the competition. This meant that the team would struggle to field a full roster, which meant the chances on reclaiming the title had gone. However, this did not prevent the rest of the team from going and trying their hardest.

Right from the beginning Joe Evans-Murray, who was the only sixth form representative for us, dominated this age category winning both the endurance and sprint events. In year 7 Jackson Brown, Hollie Bolton and Lacey Goddard performed extremely well for their first experience in the competition and eventually came fourth overall. In year 8 Flyn McCabe dominated the boys events and was backed up well by Ryan Shilling-Dent. Bethan Stafford-Bowers, Rhianna Vernon and Georgia Snudden all did their bit for the team by putting in some excellent performances with Bethan also taking a first in the endurance event. The year 8 team eventually came fourth overall but were within touching distance of first sport due to it being so close between all the teams. Scott Parker was the only representative in year 9 but this did not stop him from winning the endurance event and coming second in the sprint. In year 10 Leon Pitman destroyed anyone who was put in front of him to win both the endurance and sprint events. Morgan Tombleson backed Leon up with two very strong performances coming second in both events. Millie Lavell also supported the team with two determined efforts but it was Katie Taylor who stole the show by winning both her events in comfortable style. The year 10’s won their age group overall. In year 11 Robson Dowden, Emily Oatley and Alyssa Draper all tried their best throughout and came away consistently with second and third places to claim second spot in their age group.

After adding all the points together along with the relay events Carisbrooke were able to hold onto second spot despite tough competition from Christ The King who came third, overall followed by the Island Free School and Cowes. This meant Sandown won back the title this year from Carisbrooke but the rivalry is well and truly still on for future years to come.

The highlight for me throughout the afternoon was seeing the likes of Emily Oatley, Katie Taylor and Joe Evans-Murray supporting the less experienced and younger students prepare for their events and then motivate and cheer them on during the races. They were inspirational in their approach and a real credit to the team and school.

Well done to all of you who took part.

Copyright © 2020 Carisbrooke College. All Rights Reserved.
An Isle of Wight Education Federation College

This site uses cookies to deliver superior functionality and to enhance your experience of our website. By continuing to use this website you agree to accept cookies from this site.

I understand